Sunday 7/20/08 – Deadlift, Back, Abs

Got in from our trip late this past Friday.  Trip was awesome.  PSU was fun as always, Philly was great, NYC was killer, Atlantic City wasn’t so great – made me appreciate Vegas though!  Did a light full body workout while we were at PSU and walked about a billion miles in downtown Philly and NYC.  Made up for all the donut holes from Dunkin Donuts I basically lived off of!

Started the Sept 7 meet prep cycle today.

1. deadlift: warm ups – 135×5, 185×5; work sets – 225×5, 275×5, 315×5

2. pin pull #3 pin: 275×3/3

3. grappler row: 4×8

4. lat pulldown: 3×10

5. 1-arm long cycle w/24kg: 20/2:00

6. hanging leg raise: 3×10

That’s all.  I have a 6 week cycle plus 1 week deload into the meet.  1st 3 weeks I’ll be in my loose metal bencher and metal briefs, 2nd 3 weeks I’ll be in my tight metal shirt and ace squatter.  Just doing a straight up old school power cycle this time.  Deadlift+back on Sun, Bench+lockout+bis on Mon, Squat+legs on Wed, light cg bench+delts+tris on Fri.  Of course will sprinkle some KB work, grip, abs and neck in there.

2 Responses to “Sunday 7/20/08 – Deadlift, Back, Abs”

  1. ironbellathletics Says:

    Hi Scott,

    Nice blog. Are you doing a full powerlifting meet or just a DL meet? I’m curious as to how long your cycle is going to be.

    Jim Lane
    AKC

    http://www.ironbellathletics.wordpress.com

  2. Jim,

    Thanks for stopping by brother! Yes, it’ll be a full power meet. I did a dl only meet this past April (cause’ I was training long cycle for the AKC Classic in May and didn’t want to interfere too much with the kb training) and was so bummed to watch people squat and bench. I said never again! LOL! Powerlifting is 3 lifts! I love what Kirk Karwoski says in the Powre Unlimited movie, something along the lines of “I would never tell a bench only guy he wasn’t a powerlifter. But what’s wong with squatting? Strap your c**k on leave your p***y at home and go to the gym and bend your knees!” LOL!

    Anyway, for the Sept 7 meet I have a 6 week cycle, 2 three week mini cycles planned with a 1 week deload into the meet, then for the november meet I have a light week after the sept meet, then a 9 week cycle with a 1 week deload, then I’ll shift gears from PL specialization and KB maintenance to PL maintenance and KB specialization for the December AKC kb sport meet I am hosting. Lot’s o’ training for sure!

    Scott

Leave a comment