Wednesday 4/23/08 – kettlebell training

7:30pm

Had a late meeting and only had about 25 min. so I warmed up then decided to try to shoot for 8:00 plus w/24kg long cycle (I really want to hit a 10:00 set before Vegas next week for a confidence boost).  Training has suffered these past two weeks as I’ve had a TON of shit going on with opening the new gym – was sweeping it all out last night cause’ apparently builders can’t clean up after themselves and I have the Fire Marshall coming tomorrow.  If he passes my inspection I can get my bidness license and get the place opened!!  Freakin’ sweet!  Atlanta Barbell & Kettlebell Club will be vacating my basement very soon!  Probably move equipment on Sat May 10th (first weekend back from Vegas!)  It’s going to be sweet!  A darkside hardcore gym to be a thorn in the side of all the treandy bullshit clubs, gyms and fitness centers in Atlanta!  Gotta’ love the iron baby, gotta’ love the iron……..

Oh yeah, training..

After warm ups hit:

1. long cycle: w/24kg -17/8:00 (PR on time)

This was good.  Conditioning-wise I think I could have gone the full 10 min.  My arms gave out – but my wind was ok.  Still having a hard time in the rack position getting rest – if I go to the sides my forearms fatigue fast, if I dig my elbows into my gut and try to sink them down I have a hard time breathing.  Oh, but I forgot, lifting kb’s for time is BORING not HARD.  That’s why more don’t do it right?  Goals for Vegas= 1. 10:00 2. level 7 numbers or better for whatever weight-class I am in.  I still think I could go in and gut-out level 3 numbers (could be anywhere between 11 and 14 reps w/ the 32 kg bells depending on weight class) but I think barely getting 3 min. just to make a rank is wrong.  I got no business competing with the 32 kg’s until I can maintain 6-7 reps a minute for 10:00 with the 24’s. 

Leave a comment